A note about taxes


Taxes can be confusing, so we wanted to provide a little bit of information about who pays for the 1% sales tax, and what the current sales tax rate is for our community.

Who pays for the 1% sales tax / Penny Power, and what is taxable?

  • Anyone who buys taxable goods in Campbell County contributes to the total collected. Guests to our county, tourists, and part-time residents will cover some of the tax burden as well.
  • The 1% sales tax applies to taxable goods purchased within Campbell County, Wyoming. This tax does not apply to food, gasoline, home purchases, prescriptions, or rental payments. Goods that are subject to sales tax in Wyoming include physical property like furniture, clothing, phones, home appliances, and motor vehicles. Professional services not subject to Wyoming sales and use tax includes, but is not limited to: Accountants; Attorneys; Doctors; Engineers; Inspectors; Lawyers; Teachers/Trainers/Instructors; and Technical Writers. An example of taxed services would be one which sells, repairs, alters, or improves tangible physical property.

What is the current sales tax rate for Campbell and surrounding counties?

The current sales tax rate for Campbell County is 5% for a $1 purchase (this currently reflects what we pay with the 1% sales tax). Below please find the current sales tax rate in adjacent counties, and other areas:

  • Crook County, 6%
  • Converse County, 5%
  • Johnson County, 5%
  • Sheridan County, 6%
  • Weston County, 6%
  • Billings, MT, 0%
  • Casper, 5%
  • Cheyenne, 6%
  • Laramie, 6%
  • Rapid City, SD, 6.5%